Company History

Created on 1 December 2004 by two experienced physicists, LEVISYS is a French high-tech company specializing in the design, development, production and marketing of very high performance flywheels.

The founders of LEVISYS, convinced that flywheels will occupy a prominent place in the inevitable transition to low carbon energy, have from the outset oriented the development of their product to optimize yields, reliability and cost reduction, in line with the recommendations of the INVESTIRE1 study funded by the European Commission.

Several major innovations were introduced on magnetic levitation, electric conversion machine, highly integrated architecture and the absence of cooling system. The carbon fiber rotor was developed jointly with the world's leading aerospace company, Airbus Industrie. Thus the first characterizations of the industrial prototype (10 kW.h - 10 kW) show an overall efficiency never reached with this technology (> 97%), a very low self-discharge allowing to conserve energy stored for several weeks and an excellent adaptation to demanding applications in terms of stress.

These results confirm those obtained in 2010 by EDF's Clamart R&D center from a LEVISYS prototype. At that time, the founders had sought for benefit from an expertise independent of their technology.

Ten (10) flywheels are currently being installed in a smart grid demonstrator at the size of a zone of economic activity in Toulouse (Smart ZAE project)2. The findings will be available before the end of 2016.

At the same time, LEVISYS is acquiring an industrial production facility as part of the FLYPROD (FLYwheel PRODuction)2 project. In partnership with the Aube Departmental Council, a plant dedicated to this activity will be commissioned, and a pilot production line will enable LEVISYS to put on the market a 100 machines per year from the end of 2016. The building was also designed to allow rapid expansion to 500 machines per year.

Supported by the French authorities and with more than ten (10) years of experience, LEVISYS is today the leader in the industrial sector of energy storage by flywheels and has all the assets to quickly become a leading player in the international electricity storage market.

1 CONTRACT N° ENK5-CT-2000-20336 - INVESTIRE-NETWORK - Investigation on Storage Technologies for Intermittent Renewable Energies: Evaluation and recommended R&D strategy - 2003/06/17

2 The Smart ZAE and FLYPROD projects are supported by ADEME's "Investissements d’Avenir" (Investments in Futures) program.

 

Download our documentation

Historique

Créée le 1er décembre 2004 par deux physiciens expérimentés, LEVISYS est une société française de haute technologie spécialisée dans la conception, le développement, la fabrication et la commercialisation de volants d’inertie à très haute performance.

Persuadés que les volants d’inertie occuperont une place de choix dans l’inéluctable transition vers une énergie moins carbonée, les fondateurs de LEVISYS ont orienté, dès l’origine, le développement de leur produit vers l’optimisation des rendements, l’amélioration de la fiabilité et la diminution les coûts, rejoignant en cela les recommandations de l’étude INVESTIRE1 financée par la Commission européenne.

Grâce à plusieurs innovations majeures protégées, portant, notamment, sur la lévitation magnétique, la machine électrique de conversion, l’architecture fortement intégrée ou encore l’absence d’auxiliaire de refroidissement, les premières caractérisations du prototype industriel (10 kW.h – 10 kW) dont le rotor en fibre de carbone a été développé conjointement avec le leader mondial de l’aéronautique, Airbus Industrie, mettent en évidence un rendement global jamais atteint avec cette technologie (> 97%), une autodécharge très faible permettant de conserver l’énergie stockée pendant plusieurs semaines et une excellente adaptation aux applications exigeantes en termes de sollicitations.

Ces résultats confirment ceux obtenus en 2010 par le centre R&D Clamart de EDF à partir d’un prototype LEVISYS de laboratoire. À ce moment, les fondateurs avaient souhaité bénéficier d’une expertise indépendante de leur technologie.

Dix volants d’inertie sont actuellement en cours d’installation dans un démonstrateur de réseau intelligent à la taille d’une zone d’activité économique à Toulouse (projet Smart ZAE)2. Les conclusions seront connues avant la fin de l’année 2016.

Dans le même temps, LEVISYS se dote d’un outil industriel de production dans le cadre du projet FLYPROD (FLYwheel Production)2. En partenariat avec le Conseil Départemental de l’Aube, une usine dédiée à cette activité va être mise en service, et une ligne pilote de production permettra à LEVISYS de mettre sur le marché une centaine de machines par an à partir de fin 2016. Le bâtiment a également été conçu pour permettre une extension rapide à 500 machines/an.

Soutenu par les autorités françaises, et bénéficiant de plus de dix années d’expérience, LEVISYS est aujourd’hui le leader de la filière industrielle dans le domaine du stockage de l’électricité au moyen de volants d’inertie et dispose de tous les atouts pour devenir rapidement un acteur de référence sur le marché international du stockage de l’électricité.

1 CONTRACT N° ENK5-CT-2000-20336 - INVESTIRE-NETWORK - Investigation on Storage Technologies for Intermittent Renewable Energies: Evaluation and recommended R&D strategy - 2003/06/17

2 Les projets Smart ZAE et FLYPROD bénéficient du soutien du programme d’Investissements d’Avenir opéré par l’ADEME.

 

Télécharger notre documentation